A Giant Science Opportunity

On a day I’d rather not remember, I mentioned we started out by watching science videos by the very cool, very talented, very musical group “They Might Be Giants.”

We found said videos because I had borrowed their alphabet CD, “Here Come the ABC’s” from the library, and we had listened to it over and over and over again in the car . . . and in the living room . . . and in the kitchen.

Why I went searching for videos, I can’t remember. But I stumbled upon an entire YouTube channel of They Might Be Giants educational videos. And what a treasure trove it is.

I really enjoy their alphabet and number songs (they have a CD for each with a DVD that has a video created for each song), but the one they did for science has turned out to be my favorite!

You can watch all the videos on YouTube for free. (Here’s the science videos. And the alphabet videos.) I ended up buying the CD/DVD combo for the science one because I loved it so much and wanted to own a physical copy. How can you not want to own songs about the periodic table, cells, and photosynthesis? And what’s not to love about lyrics like these:

The sun is a mass of incandescent gas
A gigantic nuclear furnace
Where hydrogen is built into helium
At a temperature of millions of degrees

Yo ho, it’s hot, the sun is not
A place where we could live
But here on earth there’d be no life
Without the light it gives

We need it’s light
We need it’s heat
We need it’s energy
Without the sun, without a doubt
There’d be no you and me

(Disclaimer: A few of the science songs include references to evolution.)

To whet your appetite, here’s a few samples of what these musical geniuses have to offer. If you want more, you’ll either have to spend a long time in front of your computer tuned to YouTube . . . or just buy the CD/DVD combo like I did!

And, because this one made us laugh over and over again, here’s one that teaches the number seven from the 123 album.

2 Comments

Filed under Resources and Reviews

2 responses to “A Giant Science Opportunity

  1. Paige

    I used to play “Why Does the Sun Shine” with my sixth graders.

  2. Karyn

    I’m really glad that you shared these. I had no idea there were videos that went along with the songs. We love their music & now can add to it with some fun videos. My son enjoyed watching a few already!

Leave a Reply

