A Parable of Porcine Proportions

When I was a junior in high school, I read The Scarlet Letter in English class. Nathanial Hawthorne’s language was a bit daunting at first, but after awhile, I grew to love his flowery, adjective-laden prose. As one of the closing assignments, my teacher assigned her students to take a minimalist, modern short story and rewrite it using Hawthorne’s language.

I loved it. I found it exhilarating to watch the plot unfold in the same way but with completely different words. I gained a new appreciation for the power that words have.

So I was delighted when this video of the Three Little Pigs by comedian John Branyan started floating around the internet. It’s a fabulous example of trying on a style of language . . . just to see what happens. If my kids were older, I think we’d try to see what other folktales or fairytales we could recreate with the bard’s fabulous style of language.

If you haven’t seen it yet, it’s worth every bit of your eight minutes. My kids and I watched it twice.

(Note: There is a bit of smoking (in character) at the end. It didn’t bother me, but if you’re worried, you may want to preview first.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Examples and Stories

Leave a Reply

