I Experimented!

I was in the shower the other day when there was a loud knock at the door. Through the roar of the water, I could just make out, “Mom! Mom! I explgherfhalefed!” Since showering leaves all the people in my house unattended and therefore potentially in harms way (mostly from each other!), I strained to clarify what I was hearing.

“What?” I yelled.

“Mom! I explgherfhalefed!” Nope, I wasn’t going to get it with water running into my ears.

But it sounded urgent, so I left my legs unshaved and turned off the water. As I stepped out of the shower stall, I said again, “What’s wrong?”

A voice leapt through the door. “Mom! I experimented. I put them together, and I figured out how this shape fits into the other shape.” I watched as a small, green, wooden equilateral triangle slid under the bathroom door, followed by a larger, red hexagon. Two small pieces from a Melissa and Doug toy I picked up on clearance.

With my towel on, I opened the door. Bok Choy‘s face radiated the joy of discovery.

He picked up the pieces from the bathroom floor. “See! See!” he said, as he placed the triangle on top of the hexagon. “I put six triangles on the hexagon, and they fit! It was an experiment, and I figured it out!”

I laughed. “Yep, you did!”

It got me to thinking. When was the last time I experimented with geometry? When was the last time I really played with math until I discovered something new?

I think I’ll go play with some shapes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Examples and Stories

Leave a Reply

