The Mid-Summer Crisis

The past few days have been hard. Perhaps it’s the hot weather. Perhaps it’s coming off the long holiday weekend. Perhaps it’s because I’ve hit my mid-summer crisis.

What’s a mid-summer crisis, you ask? It’s when the summer we’re actually having doesn’t look a lot like the summer I envisioned in my head. It includes a lot more chaos and a lot fewer planned activities. It includes more sleeping in and lazing around and fewer highly engaging and exciting learning moments. It looks less and less like inspiring and more and more like ignoring.

But I believe no crisis is too small that it can not be put to good use. In this case, it’s motivated me to start gathering (and sharing) all the things that I have floating around that I turn to when I’m in the middle of one of my “please just go away for five minutes so I can have a break” days.

Sometimes its a poem or a scripture. Sometimes it’s a story. Sometimes it’s the words of a song or a YouTube video sent to me at just the right moment.

I debated what to share first, but I decided I want to start with a YouTube video I stumbled on.

This video is Benjamin Zander presenting a TED talk (more on what I think of these in another post) on how everyone loves classical music, the power of inspiring others, and the delight that you can feel when you see “shining eyes.”

Some of my favorite moments . . .

It’s one of the characteristics of a leader that he not doubt for one moment the capacity of the people he’s leading to realize whatever he’s dreaming.

Having vision is seeing where you are and where you want to go and not fixating on the fence posts in between.

Every person loves [to learn]—some just don’t know it yet (or have forgotten).

The conductor doesn’t make a sound. He depends for his power on his ability to make other people powerful.

My job is to awaken possibility in other people.

Look at their eyes. If their eyes are shining, you know you’re doing it.

Ahh . . . I feel a little more inspired already.

2 Comments

Filed under Examples and Stories

2 responses to “The Mid-Summer Crisis

  1. Shelley

    I am glad I’m not the only mom that has a yearly mid-summer crisis!

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE this video, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

