Inspiring Yourself?

This week I had the chance to present many of the ideas that I’ve talked about here to a group of women at church. We had a great time discussing motivation and inspiring children and other people in our lives. One of the questions that they asked was if what we were talking about would also work if they wanted to motivate themselves.

What a great question!

The way I look at it . . . basic principles are basic principles, so if you strip down any information and find the kernels of truth, you should be able to apply them universally. However, sometimes applying basic principles to specific situations can be a challenge.

And we don’t always have lots of time (or the motivation required!) to tackle a new challenge.

So if you’re looking for information on how to motivate yourself, I would highly recommend Succeed: How We Can Reach Our Goals by Heidi Grant Halvorson. Based solidly in a foundation of research, this books was an enjoyable read that taught me so much about the psychology behind motivation. Because the book is meant for the lay person (like me!), it was structured with lots of take away points and summaries.

I walked away feeling empowered because I better understood why I continue to struggle at accomplishing certain things and also how I could change to move forward with what I want to do. It also gave me great insight into my children and others around me, and directly influenced some of the key information that I’ve shared previously on this blog. (See What Is Inspiring: Part 2 and Part 3.)

Not bad for a little purple book. (Now if I could just get motivated to read all the other great books I’ve been meaning to get to!)

1 Comment

Filed under Resources and Reviews

One response to “Inspiring Yourself?

  1. Ah, that explains quiet a few things!

Leave a Reply

